Chakra Series, Part Three: Solar Plexus

The Solar Plexus Chakra governs self-worth, empowerment, anger, guilt and our male/active energy. It is where we connect with the world energetically. (If you missed the earlier articles in this series, have a look at the Chakra Series - Part One to catch up...)

The Solar Plexus Chakra:
Colour: Yellow/Gold
Position: Epigastrium, below the ribs
Associated Organs/Areas: Liver, Spleen, Stomach, Small Intestine
Endocrine Gland: Pancreas
Related Emotions: Empowerment, Anger, Resentment, Unworthiness, Guilt
Basic Need: Valuing the needs of the Higher Self
Spiritual Aspect: Self-Worth

The Solar Plexus chakra is the house of the Ego, or lower self/personality. It is associated with confidence, self-worth and activity. We also (often without realising it) receive energy from other people and the outside world through this centre. The issues associated with the Solar Plexus are mainly of confidence and allowing oneself to be a powerful human being, guilt and sabotage free. Many people are conditioned to be less than powerful, or are taught that power is a bad thing, something to be tamed down. Power, in the true sense, is, however, a wonderful and necessary energy that we are supposed to be harnessing to create our world with. Power is love based and when used from a loving heart, will transform our health, lives and experiences.

Powerful emotions are stored here, such as anger, resentment and guilt. These all stem from fear of being powerful, or from a sense of powerlessness, feelings of being a victim or other fears that it is not OK to be a powerful and successful person. Often, people can resent the success of others, or try to control them. Sometimes, people can be taught to feel guilty about being successful, confident or abundant in life. Over time, suppressed emotions such as anger will cause health problems in the areas of the body that are governed by the Solar Plexus.

In order to heal this area, we must safely release the emotions and change the beliefs about power. If we learn to live from a love-based place, then our power will always be used for good and will always create good. We must trust our inner guidance about the decisions we make, so we begin to create the world we want to experience. Sometimes, we must stand up for ourselves, take responsibility and re-claim our power from others.

Over time, we must build confidence and lovingly approve of ourselves, instead of worrying about what others think. When we feel anger, we must breathe and look inside ourselves to see why we feel afraid, or threatened. We can always chose to change our thinking, words and actions to ones of love and peace. We are in control. When we blame others, we lose control by giving our power away.

The Solar Plexus is also associated with male energy. Our male energy is that of action, however, in order for the action to be successful or productive, it must follow the guidance of our inner female intuition, our inner wisdom, in order to be love-based action. When we allow the ego /mind to be in charge, it forges ahead blindly, making decisions based on past experiences, fears and negative thinking, as it is fear-based.

The Solar Plexus is the house of the ego, so we have to become mindful about the right use of power and action. Imbalances in this area are commonly seen in those who allow their ego's to rule them, or who do not value themselves highly enough. Many times, arrogance is mistaken for true confidence and healing these issues allows us to move forward in a more truly confident way.

Tips for balancing the Solar Plexus chakra:

Learn to listen to your inner guidance before making decisions

Avoid competition, knowing there's enough for everyone and we're all good enough right now!

Safely release toxic emotions including anger to reveal the truth beneath the emotion

Become more aware of how the energies of others affect you and shield your Solar Plexus

Affirm that you are worthy now!

I hope that this information will be informative and helpful to you. Remember, guilt is the opposite of love, so please release it, whether it comes from you or someone else, it blocks and sabotages our lives! Forgive and move forward in love...

For part 4 - The Heart Chakra, click here